New Music, News

Nas Celebrates Illmatic’s 20th

The Life As Shay Report:

25 million sold and 13 albums in, Nas takes the time to reflect on the 20th anniversary of his game-changing debut album Illmatic. Released in April of 1994, Nas gets an early start on commemorating the album and body of work that set him up as one of Raps Greatest, inspired an entire culture of music and stood as a pillar of the lifestyle of many.  In honor of Illmatic’s 20th, this upcoming April, Nas will release Illmatic XX, a remastered double disc of Illmactic featuring remixes, freestyles and unreleased tracks.  If that’s not enough for Hip-Hop fans, Nas will be touring…wait for it…PERFORMING ILLMATIC FROM START TO FINISH! Once the list of dates drop, I will be sure to have that info for you so keep checking back. As of now, he has two dates locked in, Cochella and John F Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts.

“With Illmatic, I didn’t think about it. I just did it. I believe everybody has good instincts. Now I’m a man from that past and I’m supremely grateful. There’s a Nigerian proverb ‘What is past is prologue’.  I’m here today because of Illmatic.” – Nas  

Check out the Illmatic XX’s track list and It Aint Hard to Tell (Stick Mix)

Disc 1: Remastered original album

1. The Genesis

2. N.Y. State Of Mind

3. Life’s A Bitch

4. The World Is Yours

5. Halftime

6. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)

7. One Love

8. One Time 4 Your Mind

9. Represent

10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio

1. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)

2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)

3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)

4. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)

5. One Love (LG Main Mix)

6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)

7. One Love (One L Main Mix)

8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)

9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)

10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)


Leave a Reply